ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle program: Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

Continual Service Improvement (CSI) Course | taught by The Art of Service Team
Watch Intro Video

Interested in this course? Email us at

Course description

Continual Service Improvement Lifecycle Program*

The Continual Service Improvement Certificate covers the following ITIL processes:

The 7-Step Improvement Process

★CSI Improvement Principles

★Service Improvement Process

★CSI Methods and Techniques

★Organizing CSI

★Technology considerations

★Implementing and critical success factors

Is this course for you!

This intensive interactive course immerses learners in the practical aspects of the ITIL Service Lifecycle and processes associated with Continual Service Improvement. The main focus of this course is on the operational-level process activities and supporting methods and approaches to executing these processes in a practical, hands-on learning environment.

This training is intended to enable the holders of the certificate to apply the practices in resolution and support of the Service Management Lifecycle. This course uses an engaging, interactive and flexible online approach to learning the core disciplines of the ITIL best practice and positions the student to successfully complete the associated exam: the AXELOS® Intermediate Level Certificate in Continual Service Improvement.

Have any questions about what you may need? Send us an email at


Why should you train with The Art of Service

The Art of Service is a world leading online learning company that helps anyone learn technology and business skills to achieve personal and professional goals.

Our Accredited eLearning Courses provide our students everything to best prepare you for the ITIL Exams with:

 Accredited self paced online learning (60 days)
 300+ page PDF Workbook Yours to keep (PDF download)
 Multimedia presentations to simulate the classroom experience
 Downloadable resources so you can study on the go;
 End of module review questions to assess your content knowledge
 A full 40 question sample exam to assist in your exam preparation
 24/7 online access to your course. (Internet access required)

Through individual, corporate, academic and government enrollments, members have access to the The Art of Service education library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by accredited and recognized industry experts.

What you need to know!

Pre-requisites needed before you start:

  • Hold an ITIL v3/2011 Foundation Certificate or ITIL v2 Foundation + v3 Foundation Bridge Certificate
  • There is no minimum requirement but a basic IT literacy and around 2 years IT experience are highly desirable
  • It is highly recommended that you read the AXELOS Continual Service Improvement book prior to commencement of this program
  • Candidates must supply identification confirmation at the time of course registration

Contact Hours

The recommended minimum contact hours for the eLearning course is 21 but the benefit of eLearning is that you can move at a pace that best suits you. Our different access options allow you to tailor the learning experience to your learning needs.


The program combines short presentations supported by accredited trainer audio. A text book is also provided to further explore and explain all concepts covered within the syllabus. There are exercises (marking scheme provided) to ensure learners are testing their knowledge and competency to enhance understanding of key concepts. Revision questions and a mock examination help to prepare for the multiple-choice examination. (60 days access)


 About the Examination:

  • Evidence of ITIL v3/2011 Foundation Certificate or ITIL v2 Foundation + v3 Foundation Bridge Certificate and completion of the CSI Lifecycle course from an Accredited Training Provider is required to sit the exam
  • It is recommended that students should complete at least 21 hours of personal study by reviewing the syllabus and the CSI book in preparation for the examination.
  • The syllabus can be downloaded from your resources in the course.
  • The exam is a closed book exam with eight (8) multiple choice, scenario-based, gradient scored questions.
  • Exam duration is a maximum 90 minutes for all candidates in their respective language (candidates sitting the examination in a language other than their first language have a maximum of 120 minutes and are allowed to use a dictionary)
  • Each question will have 4 possible answer options, one of which is worth 5 marks, one which is worth 3 marks, one which is worth 1 mark, and one which is a distracter and achieves no marks.
  • Pass score is 28/40 or 70%
  • Distinction pass score is under consideration


Is this course accredited?

Yes! AXELOS/PeopleCert, the official ITIL accreditors, have accredited this course and the instructors who teach it as providing high-quality training in IT Service Management.



ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited
AXELOS® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited

The Art of Service Team
The Art of Service Team
eLearning Support

The Art of Service has a team dedicated to your learning success! Our eLearning support team is available 7 days per week for ongoing support and to answer your course related questions.

Course Curriculum

Important Information!
Must read!!
Candidate ID Form - Must be completed
ITIL® Continual Service Improvement Intermediate Lifecycle Complete Certification Kit
Welcome to Continual Service Improvement
Warm Up
ITIL Qualification Scheme
Service Lifecycle Map
Hide Content
Continual Service Improvement Course
Continual Service Improvement Introduction
Continual Service Improvement Principles
Continual Service Improvement Processes
Methods and Techniques Part 1
Methods and Techniques Part 2
Methods and Techniques Part 3
Roles and Organizational Structures
Technology Considerations
Implementing Continual Service Improvement
CSI Summary
Hide Content
Exercises and Marking Guide
Roles and Responsibilities Exercise
Service Level Management Exercise 1
Service Level Management Exercise 2
Service Package Exercise
Technology Exercise
Roles and Responsibilities Marking Guide
Service Level Management Marking Guide 1
Service Level Management Marking Guide 2
Service Package Marking Guide
Technology Marking Guide
Hide Content
Exam Preparation & Information
Exam Information
Course Evaluation Form
Exam Preparation with Graded Marking
Exam Preparation with Graded Marking - Answers
Be better prepared for the Exam!
Purchase the Exam Voucher Here!
Hide Content
Sample Exam
ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle CSI Sample 1 SCENARIO BOOKLET_v6.2
ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle CSI Sample 1 QUESTION BOOKLET_v6.2
ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle CSI Sample 1 ANSWERS & RATIONALES_v6.2
Hide Content
Additional Resources
Official AXELOS ITIL Glossary
The ITIL Intermediate Qualification Continual Service Improvement Certificate Syllabus v5.5
Multiple Choice Questions Rationale
Hide Content

Interested in this course? Email us at

"ITIL® is a Registered Trade Mark of the AXELOS Limited". "The Swirl logo is a Trade Mark of the AXELOS Limited". | "AXELOS® is a registered Trade Mark of AXELOS, limited" 2016